Cyprus: Into The Wild

Wildness in Cyprus? Ou yes, it’s definitely there and might get closer than you could imagine. If I kept my window opened more often, I would have had more guests for sure. I saw loads of interesting animals and insects without even searching and getting to meadows. All I had to do is to open my eyes.

I am glad that eating chocolate on my way home from work wasn’t as attractive to Cyprus creatures as to squirrels in St.James or Green Park in London. I had seen all of the above in Latvia, either in Zoo or in wild, just much smaller exemplars. There were loads of curious lizards who tried to get in my room. Some of the cockroaches were successful and invaded my space using their speed. That’s when my roommate used his speed too and got a spray against insects from a closest shop. He applied it instantly. Even though he wasn’t stingy some of the coachroaches survived the first dose so the tool had to be used twice.

Heading to the World's Edge

Heading to the World’s Edge

This was a precious day, spent with wonderful people in wonderful places. Waterfall called Adonis Baths was our target. We rented a quad bike as there were loads of beautiful landscapes on the way to stop by. You know what, it’s definitely my cup of tea, to drive along the beach line, explore banana plantations and have a generous wind conditioner. It’s an hour drive from Paphos to Coral Bay direction. Just a little before the popular beach have to take a small road up to the hills. It was quite challenging to get up and down the steep trail. We had to master the skill quickly.. to stay on track. If you wish to get into the wild, all you need is to drive off the city roads. We had an unexpected meeting with some locals – herd of sheeps, which was in such a hurry that only some of them noticed us in the way. There were so many that we decided to give them a go first. The sheeps taught us patience. After some time we started moving closer to our destination which was very tempting.. it was getting hot.

Sheeps On Their Way

Sheeps On Their Way

Pedestrians Go First

Pedestrians Go First

Countryside of Cyprus

Countryside of Cyprus

Shepherds Family Having Their Moment

Shepherds Family Having Their Moment

Later on we discovered that it was too hot for Shepherds too. They were hiding from the sun under a lonely tree.

Adonis Baths

Adonis Baths

What a happy moment it was to reach the refreshing Adonis Baths and put feet in the chilling water. Mission accomplished. This is the final post of my series about Cyprus, so if you wish to catch up, here is the story about touristic side and historical places in Paphos area.