Moving To Spain & Pyrenees Hike

It’s been a while since I shared anything in my blog. Well, with a good reason. Moved my life from Latvia to Spain more than a month ago. My new course-mates are from around the globe. Sharing passion for salsa at a local dance school and learning how to cook lentils with sausage in Catalan style. It’s been wonderful. Also my Spanish level adds some spice to a day. For example, instead of saying ‘I haven’t met any Spanish guy with eyes in other colour than brown’, I said ‘orange’.. or instead of saying ‘are you ready?’ I asked ‘are you inteligent?’ which created some priceless reactions, hahaa. Everyone has been so nice and helpful, especially my Catalan flatmate Jordi.

Some people have asked me how could I leave my amazing job, family and friends back in Riga.

If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine. It is lethal.

Paulo Coelho said it well. For me it was rather hard to stay and that is how I felt about my work the most. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it a lot, I just couldn’t eat dessert every day for so long. Uncertainty and changes are healthy, and I enjoy being out of comfort zone. Friends and family? Of course, I can’t meet them as often, but that’s not the physical presence which makes the relationships.

Love From The First Sight, Pyrenees

Love From The First Sight, The Pyrenees

So far have spent some time exploring Catalunya. MountainHiking tick bit me after Norway’s Troltunga trail so had to take benefit of being in a three hour drive from the powerful Pyranees. Our way lead to the Lake des Bouillouses in The Regional Park of the Catalan Pyrenees, South of France, close to Andorra. That is where the trail to Peak Carlit starts.

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

Davide, Me and Pascal (Fastest, Already Far Away) Close To The Beginning Of Trail, ~2017m

Utter Peace

Utter Peace

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

Water Hurrying Through The Rock Maze

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

Looking For The Right Peak In Maps

Peak Carlit, the one on the left, wasn’t hiding and was watching us for quite a time. It is a 15 km trail for a round trip and it calmly leads through shallower areas surrounded by lakes at the beginning and then demanding, steep rather climb to reach the top. Paradise for countryside lovers. Trail takes approximately six hours to complete but should be started early in the morning to make it back before it gets dark and spooky.

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

Getting Closer But Not Easier

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

Exploring The Edgy Personality of Peak Carlit

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

Dream Team At The Top, 2921m Elevation

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

Digging Views As Far As Possible

Pyrenees, Peak Carlit

On The Planet Earth?

Special thanks to Davide and his phone for the lovely pictures. Pyrenees didn’t want us to leave so soon. On the way back had some competition for using the road. We waited patiently for bulls to find their way and at times to have a rest. Some of them were walking down the runway for me couple of meters away so I didn’t hesitate to use the occasion for a close-up picture.

Hiking is powerful. Had a decent workout at remote and absolutely gorgeous sceneries, meal at the peak which tasted amazingly, and nice conversations with adventurous and warm people.

See you around,
– Ruta

 

