Paris: Excellence To It’s Highest

As it was not warm yet and nature was still sleeping, I focused on the architecture and indoors during my three day visit. I can definitely say that Paris is the most luxurious city I have been to. One building more graceful than another.

Saint-Paul Church

DSC_0059

Hôtel de Beauvais

The Hotel de Ville

Busy ice-skating area in front of The Hôtel de Ville which houses city’s local administration

I am glad I went to The Palace of Versailles which was a home to generations of French monarchy. The reigning ended with the French revolution when the King Louis XVI and his wife Marie Antoinette were executed in the late 1700s. It took ~50 years to build 700 rooms, 2153 windows and 67 stairs. Vast space allowed to crowd up to 10,000 people depending on the days.

Versalas_pils7

Hall Of Mirrors

In the 17th century mirrors were among the most expensive items to possess at the time, so Hall of 357 Mirrors is something they were proud of. It’s 73m × 10m × 12m big. By the way, all the gold you see is real.

Versalas_pils4

The Royal Chapel

It is truly royal. Marble floor, chapel altar all in gold, organ, amazing paintings and columns. What an enormous space, impossible to capture in one photo. I wish to return to the castle in summer to see it’s gardens green and with flowers. The numbers are impressive again. 8000 hectares, 200 000 trees, 210 000 flowers, 600 fountains, 35 km long irrigation system. Definitely on my to-see list.

Another place I visited is Napoleon III apartments and some sections of paintings in Louvre.

Mona Lisa Enjoying Some Attention

Mona Lisa Enjoying Some Attention

Once I arrived at Mona Lisa I was surprised that the painting is so small. Somehow missed this fact and at first I thought that let’s move on, too many people, would need some serious patience to see the piece closer. Then I realised that I don’t know when I’ll visit Louvre again, so I got in there and did a Selfie.

Louvre_NapaleonaApartamenti

Fabric and carved wood goes together well

DSC_0519

The Drawing room

I thought that this is the most goldish room I have ever seen… and then I discovered Palais Garner, National Opera house. It seems that they didn’t want to miss any square centimeter to put some gold on. I will let the pictures speak for themselves.

Opera3

The Grand Foyer

Opera

Marble art

 

 

